Brian Joseph Assumes the Presidency of the Linguistic Society of America

January 9, 2019

Dr. Brian Joseph (Distinguished University Professor of Linguistics and Kenneth E. Naylor Professor of South Slavic Linguistics/SEELC and Linguistcs) assumed the presidency of the Linguistic Society of America on January 6. The Linguistic Society of America is the largest professional organization for linguists, with over 3500 members in the US and abroad. Ohio State played a leading role in its founding in 1924 and there have been three previous LSA presidents from Ohio State: George Melville Bolling (1932), Ilse Lehiste (1980), and Arnold Zwicky (1992).

Congratulations Dr. Joseph!